Powered by Invision Power Board


  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Legitimate Agent, or Not?
AussieBeachBabe
Posted: December 04, 2008 09:53 am
Quote Post


Adept Writer
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Member No.: 1,447
Joined: July 20, 2008



http://www.wlwritersagency.com/index.html

I came across these guys via a link on the FictionFactor homepage (you know those little ones down the right of the page? With stuff about weight loss and stuff like that?)
Anyway, I was reading through it, and they seem okay, but I haven't had any experience with agents or publishers yet, so I wanted to get someone else's opinion.



--------------------
"There is no such thing as an aspiring writer. You are a writer. Period." - Matthew Reilly
"You don't find time to write. You MAKE time to write." - Patricia Cornwell
PMEmail PosterMSN
Top
Tina
Posted: December 04, 2008 11:58 am
Quote Post


Moderator
*******

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,310
Member No.: 2
Joined: January 18, 2004



I think they're setting off MAJOR warning bells.

If you check out their "list of authors" you'll find a list describing people by first name and profession only. They say "(Please respect the authors’ privacy). "

EXCUSE ME????????

A reputable literary agency is more than happy to shout the FULL names of their clients because their clients have BOOKS to be sold. The agent only makes money when those books are sold so they advertise them. When I see an agent with no book titles listed and no selling page for their clients' work, I become very suspicious.

Something like this:
"Recent Success! In addition to our prior sales, we are very proud to announce the sale of two romance novels to a publisher that has strong inroads into China. Our sales are now officially global."

Is far too vague. They should be listing names of writer, publisher and novels.

I also don't like how hard the first page of this website is pitching to "new talent" A legitimate agency doesn't focus on pitching to new writers, they focus on showcasing the "talent" they already have and selling their books. Because agents know that if they have a website and a writer looking for an agent visits that site, the writer just might pick up a copy of one of the books listed so they can see if the agency represents novels like theirs. This is another sale, which means more money in the agent's pocket.


P&E has them listed as :
QUOTE
Writers Literary Agency: Conflict of interest. Not recommended. A literary agency.


I'm not sure what the conflict of interest is, but typically it's when a book doctor, editor or self-publishing company sets up a literary agency.

The only name I could find on the site was Sherry Fine (legit agencies list the agents names, backgrounds and area of interest) On the P&E site, Sherry Fine is listed as:

QUOTE
Sherry Fine: Not recommended. A literary agent with Writers' Literary Agency & Marketing Company.



That's what I turned up in my few minutes before I have to go to work. Sorry I can't give you better news. sad.gif


Tina



--------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Fiction Factor
One of Writer's Digests' 101 Best Websites (multiple years)
http://www.fictionfactor.com

The Complete Guide to Writing Science Fiction
2008 Eppie Winner for non-fiction!

The Fantasy Writer's Companion
The Complete Guide to Writing Fantasy

http://www.stygianwritings.com

The Fractured Publisher
A fun and amusing way to browse for books
http://www.fracturedpublisher.com
PMEmail PosterUsers Website
Top
T.L. Kenworth
  Posted: December 04, 2008 02:13 pm
Quote Post


Super Writer
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 420
Member No.: 1,397
Joined: June 08, 2008



Take it from someone who knows, if they seem to good to be true, they probably are.


--------------------
T.L. Kenworth
Traci Kenworth

http://myspace.com/storyguidetlc
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteYahoo
Top
AussieBeachBabe
Posted: December 04, 2008 10:12 pm
Quote Post


Adept Writer
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Member No.: 1,447
Joined: July 20, 2008



I didnt even think to check P&E!

I started getting suspicious when I looked at the authors' names and none of their surnames and titles were published.
Thanks for the heads up, Traci and Tina.
At least any one who reads this now will know they're bogus, and no one is going to submit their work to them.


--------------------
"There is no such thing as an aspiring writer. You are a writer. Period." - Matthew Reilly
"You don't find time to write. You MAKE time to write." - Patricia Cornwell
PMEmail PosterMSN
Top
TheSavage
Posted: October 08, 2009 02:00 am
Quote Post


Newbie Writer
*

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Member No.: 1,811
Joined: October 07, 2009



I wouldn't touch it. Where are the NAMES of the agents? Their credentials? Also, as everyone else has said, where are the NAMES of their authors and the TITLES of their works?
PMEmail Poster
Top
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll